OpenMI Association Technical Committee meeting no 11

Date: November 22, 2007, 9:30 - 12:30, Conference room

Venue: CEH, Wallingford, UK (Open Technical meeting in association to the 2nd OpenMI LIFE workshop)   

Participants:
Jan Gregersen, LICTEK / DHI (gregersen@lictek.dk) (chairman of the meeting)
Agustin Brena, Ecole Polytechnique Federale de Lausanne, ( agustin.brena@gmail.com)
Ramos Juan Carlos, Mexican Institute of Water Technology (jcrsxp@yaahoo.com.mx)
Hazel Murphy, CEH Wallingford, (harp@ceh.ac.uk)
Isabelle Neyskens, HydroscanNV, (isabelle.neyskens@hydroscan.be)
Edwin Rowe, CEH Bangor, (ECRO@wpo.nerc.ac.uk)
Peter Schade, BAW, (peter.schade@baw.de)
Suresh Surendran, Environment Agency, (Suresh.surendran@environmentagency.gov.uk)
Flip Dirksen, RWS/DID, (flip.dirksen@rws.nl)
Isabella Tindall, CEH Wallingford, (cit@ceh.ac.uk)
David Fortune, Wallingford Software, (david.fortune@wallingfordsoftware.com)
Jaco Stout, WL | Delft Hydraulics, (jaco.stout@wldelft.nl)
Roger Moore, CEH Wallingford, (rvm@ceh.ac.uk)
Peter Gijsbers, WL | Delft Hydraulics, (peter.gijsbers@wldelft.nl)
Adrian Harper, Wallingford Software (adrian.harper@wallingfordsoftware.com)
Rob Knapen, Alterra (Rob.Knapen@wur.nl)

Objectives:

  • Informing about how the technical committee work
  • Getting feedback from participants on different ways to use OpenMI
  • Getting to know each other
  • Provide answers to specific questions

Documents:
http://sourceforge.net/projects/openmi

Agenda / Issues:

1. Welcome and introduction 

  • Purpose for this meeting
  • The agenda for this morning
  • Who's who - short presentation round

2. The OpenMI Association Technical committee

  • Introduction
  • Development approach (iterative use case driven)
  • SourceForge
    • svn
    • Forums
    • Task list
  • OpenMI Wiki
    • Minutes and agendas
    • Meeting calendar
    • Use cases
  • How to contribute

3. Participants feedback on how to use OpenMI

OATC is already working on a number of use-cases, which will guide the development of OpenMI version 2. However, idea for how to utilize OpenMI in different ways are welcomed. In this session each participant will, in more details, explain how she/he intends to use OpenMI.

Some key words to get going:

  • DSS - Building DSS based on OpenMI and Linkable Components
  • Distributed computing
  • Technologies (Java, C#, Fortran, Web, etc.)
  • Field of work (water, water quality, economics, optimization, agriculture..)
  • Platform (Windows, Unix, Linux, Web)

4. Questions and planning the second part of the meeting

We will try to answer any question (smile), some questions may take longer to answer and the answer may only be relevant for some of the participants of the meeting. For such questions, we will arrange a specific session between those interested in this particular question and one form the OATC.

5. Coffee break

6. Discussions, and answers to questions in groups.

7. Plenum

General discussion, and conclusions.